The 2020 TMJ/ SAIMS Prize

The call is out for the 2020 TMJ/ SAIMS Prize!

SAIMS invites entries for its annual Essay Competition for graduate students and ECRs. The prize is £500, with a proxime prize of £100. The winning entry will also be considered for publication in TMJ.

Full terms and conditions can be found here The template cover page can be found here. The deadline for entries this year is 19 March 2020.


The Winners of the 2019 TMJ/ SAIMS Prize

Winner: Abigail Hartman (St Andrews), ‘And the Violent Take it by Force: Poetry and the Cause of Simon de Montfort after the Battle of Evesham’

Proxime: Matthew Firth (Flinders University, Adelaide, Australia) ‘An Icelander in the Court of King Knut: History and Memory in Bjarnar saga Hitdaelakappa’

Competition was fierce this year and the entries offered coverage of a very wide range of medieval topics which made the task of shortlisting and final selection far from easy. We were significantly delayed in this process because of the impact of strike action in the spring and its aftermath which meant that we were unable to recruit sufficient expert assessors until the end of the summer. For this reason we were not in a position to announce the outcome of the process at the Leeds IMC this year; an announcement will now be made on our website. Please accept our apologies for how long this process has taken.

Due to the high number of entries it is not possible to provide feedback on individual submissions, but members of the Prize Committee were impressed by both the quality and scope of the essays. On behalf of the Prize Committee, I and my fellow general editors would like to express our thanks to you for submitting an entry, and would encourage you to consider re-entering in 2018 if you still meet the eligibility criteria.

TMJ Past Prize Winners


Winner: Rory MacLellan (University of St Andrews), for “Nick Griffin, Knight Templar: Far-right Appropriations of the Medieval Military Orders”.

Proxime: Rebecca Menmuir (Jesus College, Oxford), for “Interpretations of Ovid’s Metamorphoses in Manuscripts in England, 1100-1500″.


Winner: David O’Neil (Purdue) for “A Syntactic Basis for the Distribution of Metrical Types in Beowulf“.

Proxime: Fraser McNair (Tübingen) for “Kingship and Consent in the Reign of Charles the Simple: The Case of Saint-Servaas (919)”.


Winner: Emily Savage (St Andrews) for The Manuscript as a Work-In-Progress: Creativity and Re-Creation in the Carew-Poyntz Hours”.

Proxime: Sophie Harwood (Leeds) for “Swans and Amazons: The Case of Penthesilea and Women’s Heraldry in Medieval Culture”.


[No award made]


Joint Winner: Joseph R. Johnson (New York University) for “Domestication and its Discontents”.

Joint Winner: Jamie Page (Durham) for “Sex and Secrecy: the Earliest Prosecution of Abortion in the German-speaking Lands”.


Winner: Stefan Visnjevac (Roehampton) for “‘Equip Yourself to Inflict Vengeance … Thus it will be Recognised that You are the founder of Peace’: Laudation and Attempted Persuasion through a Sermon for the Emperor Sigismund, 1433”

Proxime: Tamara Haddad (University of Kent) for “Locating the Drama: Micklegate Bar and the Skinners’ Entry into Jerusalem”.